Apple CarPlay integration is now a feature of a ton of apps being developed for the App Store. If you’re not familiar with it, this capability is built into all iPhones of recent models and can be turned on by inserting the device into the front console USB port of your car. This feature, which allows you to listen to music, follow directions, and charge your phone while driving, is crucial for many people.
Every time you use CarPlay to activate your phone, a list of eligible apps is available on the dashboard of your vehicle. The majority of these are necessary, like your phone and messages. You may find the majority of your downloaded navigation and audio-listening apps on this menu. On your phone, though, you might find several apps beneficial that you wouldn’t use on the dashboard of your moving vehicle. Fortunately, there is a way to remove apps from Apple CarPlay without also removing them from your phone.
It’s crucial to realize that you shouldn’t do this while really driving your car. This is due to the fact that this process is carried out on your iPhone rather than the dashboard of your car. Although this is probably configured in this way for safety reasons, it demonstrates how you can edit your CarPlay display from any location. Given the distraction involved, trying to erase an app from your car’s dashboard while you’re driving could have catastrophic effects and result in serious injury.
Read More: Top 10 Fastest Cars of 2023
Removing Apps from iPhone’s CarPlay
The ability to manage and personalize your CarPlay menu while you’re not in your car is a really wise and secure move on Apple’s part. Since there isn’t a specific CarPlay app that is pre-downloaded on your phone, you might not know where to begin. Here’s how to go about it:
1. Get your iPhone’s Settings app open.
2. After selecting the General menu, select the CarPlay menu.
3. From the drop-down menu, select the name of your car, then select Customize.
4. By clicking the Remove button after tapping the red minus sign to the left of the CarPlay menu, unneeded apps can be removed.
The app cannot be deleted from CarPlay if there isn’t a red minus sign next to it. The app you deleted won’t appear on your display the next time you start your car and connect in your iPhone.
If you would want, you can always restore these apps using the same procedure. Additionally, you can move the apps that appear on your display by holding down on them and utilizing the three-line icon on the right to do so.