Instagram Restrict vs Block: Main Differences and The Best Privacy Guide

Restrict vs Block on Instagram
Photo is taken from Google.

Do you know about Instagram restrict vs block? Here we describing the main differences and the best privacy guide for it. Although Instagram offers users the ability to block other people, it’s not always possible, especially if you know them personally. Especially if you’re worried about the consequences of someone finding out they’ve been blocked. 

To avoid these unnecessary encounters with people you know personally and keep them at a distance, Instagram introduced the “Limit” feature in October 2019.

In this article, we will talk about the main differences between the Instagram restrict vs block functions. After this comparison, you will also discover instructions on how to block and restrict people on Instagram.

Difference between Instagram restrict vs block:

The Instagram restriction feature gives users more control over who can comment on their posts and what comments their followers can see: it prevents unwanted interactions without anyone knowing about the restrictions you’ve set. A restricted user will also not see if you are online or if you have read their posts, as your discussion will be moved to message requests.

On the other hand, if you block someone on Instagram, there are several ways to know that they have been blocked: the number of posts, followers, and likes are visible on their profile. However, a blocked user cannot see posts and posts, even if their profile is set to public. They also cannot send you messages or comment on your posts and stories.

To find out how others can know if you have blocked them, see our detailed guide here.

If you restrict someone on Instagram, they will still be able to comment on your posts, but no one else (other than you and the restricted person) will be able to see the comments until you individually unblock one of their comments.

The limit feature can be used as an effective alternative to blocking or deleting followers. It allows you to disable another person’s presence on your Instagram account without them knowing about it.

What happens to the comments on the “restricted” profile?

You will find your comments in the “Restricted comments” section. You will also not receive notifications about these comments in the “Notifications” tab.

To view a restricted user’s comment, you must also click the View comment option in the comments section of your post. As mentioned above, the comment is hidden by default on your profile and you can delete or share it without informing the restricted user.

However, if you delete their comment and they visit your post, they will know because the comment will be deleted.

What happens to the “Restricted” profile messages?

If you block the person, you will not be able to exchange direct messages. If you restrict a person, they can still send you a message. It will not appear in the normal chat area, but in the message request area.

You will not receive a notification when you receive a message from the person you have restricted, but you can check manually. As mentioned above, even if you see their message, they will not be notified if you have read the message or if you are online.

To reply to these messages or send a new message to a restricted account, you must first unlink the account by clicking the Unlink button in the lower right corner.

Can a blocked or restricted person tag you or mention you in a post?

You can be tagged or mentioned in a post by both a blocked user and a restricted user. However, a blocked user will not inform you of tags and mentions, while a restricted user will.

In short, the restriction function does not work with tags and mentions.

How to Restrict someone on Instagram?

There are three ways to include a person, as described below.

Restrict a user with comments

One of the easiest ways to restrict a user is through comments; follow these steps.

  • On your Android device, press and hold the comment of the user you want to restrict. Tap the small “i” button at the top. Then tap [Restrict username]. Tap Restrict account to confirm the action.
  • On an iOS device, swipe left on the comment and tap the “i” info button. Then tap the limit button.
Restricting the user through setting

Another way to restrict someone is through your Instagram account settings. Open your Instagram profile page and follow the steps below.

  • Click on the three horizontal lines in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • Select “Configuration” from the pop-up menu.
  • Click on Privacy.
  • Select “Restricted accounts” under “Connections”.
  • You can type and search for the person you want to restrict, and then click on the “Restrict” button right next to their name.

Restrict a user by a profile

Open the profile page of the user you want to restrict on Instagram and follow the steps below.

  • Touch the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • Select Restrict from the pop-up menu.
  • Then press the “Discard” button to confirm the action.
  • Also, click on the “Follow” button under the user’s biography. Click on the Restrict button. Then click on Restrict account.

How to remove a restriction from someone on Instagram?

Open your Instagram profile and follow the steps below to remove usage restrictions.

  • Click on the three horizontal lines in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • Select “Configuration” from the pop-up menu.
  • Click on Privacy.
  • Select “Restricted accounts” under “Connections”.
  • Locate the user for whom you want to remove restrictions and click the Remove Restrictions button to the right of the user’s name.
How do you block someone on Instagram?

There are two ways to block people on Instagram.

Blocking a user via comments

Comments are one of the easiest ways to block a user. Follow the steps below.

  • On Android, tap and hold the comment of the user you want to block. Press the small “i” button at the top. Then press the Block [username] button. Press “Block” again to confirm. On iOS, drag the comment to the left and press the “i” button. Select “Lock” and press “Lock” again to confirm.

Blocking a user through his/her profile

Open the profile of the person you want to block on Instagram and follow the steps below.

  • Touch the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • Select Lock from the context menu.
  • Press the lock button again to confirm the action.
  • Then click on the Reject button.
How do you unblock someone on Instagram?

Go to your Instagram profile and follow these steps to unblock someone.

  • Click on the three horizontal lines in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • Select “Configuration” from the pop-up menu.
  • Click on Privacy.
  • Under “Connections”, select the “Blocked accounts” option.
  • Click the Unblock button to the right of the user you wish to unblock. ]

If you want to know about WOW item restoration, how to pop out Twitch chat, and How to Add Interest on LinkedIn, you can follow our Gaming and Technology category.